+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1

    Default Nairn blacklisted.

    Nairn was mail blacklisted the other day after the IP was reported for spamming an external mail source. After further investigation we found that the mail from Narin had been forwarded to the external email source via a catchall from one single account. That account was hit with a load of emails and then forwarded over 2000 high scoring spam emails to another free email account.

    The terms and conditions clearly state.....

    "Anyone caught using a catchall and then forwarding the results from that catchall to an external email account such as yahoomail,gmail,hotmail etc will have there account termintaed without warning."

    This account in question has now been deleted. Not suspended nor just given a warning. We can only appologise to eveyone on Nairn who has had bounced 554 error emails the last few days because of this.

  2. #2
    hobwebs's Avatar
    hobwebs is offline Moderator

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,015

    Default

    Are you not able to disable the Catchall feature?
    _____________________________________________

    Computer Repair and Web Design services in Sittingbourne Kent



  3. #3
    tam
    tam is offline Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hobwebs View Post
    Are you not able to disable the Catchall feature?
    some people use it
    Tam

  4. #4
    hobwebs's Avatar
    hobwebs is offline Moderator

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1,015

    Default

    I used to use mine a lot till the first set of problems at Fuzioned with the catchalls. It was a pain but I have managed to get along without it for a while now.
    _____________________________________________

    Computer Repair and Web Design services in Sittingbourne Kent



  5. #5
    kevlong's Avatar
    kevlong is offline Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    101

    Default

    Thanks for the update Drew. It's good to know what caused the problem. Can I assume that the receiving ISP's, issuing the following message,:

    Your access to this mail system has been rejected due to the sending
    MTA's poor reputation


    Will once again accept emails from Nairn?

    Thanks,

    Kevlong

  6. Default

    All mail systems should update in the next 24 hours I have notified all concerned that the outbreak has been stopped.

  7. #7
    dab's Avatar
    dab
    dab is offline Senior Member

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Cheshire
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Not sure if this is the fallout from the above problem or something new, but mail that was sending ok earlier on this evening is now being bounced.

    Spamhaus says the Nairn IP is listed on CBL which in turn says
    IP Address 78.129.134.15 is currently listed in the CBL.

    It was detected at 2009-07-23 18:00 GMT (+/- 30 minutes), approximately 5 hours ago.

    It has been relisted following a previous removal at 2009-07-22 09:30 GMT

    ATTENTION: At the time of detection, this IP was infected with, or NATting for a computer infected with a high volume spam sending trojan - it is participating or facilitating a botnet sending spam or spreading virus/spam trojans.

    ATTENTION: If you simply repeatedly remove this IP address from the CBL without correcting the problem, the CBL WILL eventually stop letting you delist it and you will have to contact us directly.


    This detection is of the DarkMailer/YellSOFT DirectMailer Trojan.

  8. #8
    piersg is offline Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bristol
    Posts
    144

    Default Darkmailer

    Currently http://cbl.abuseat.org/lookup.cgi?ip=78.129.134.15 is showing the problem. If it's been resolved I've got a PDF of the current page available from the link below.

    Interesting writeup about this. The first recommendation is harsh, blocking the direct upload of websites via FTP. I can appreciate the blocking of port 25 to all but the system mail process. I hope this can be stopped soon; whilst I'm not on Nairn, who knows which servers might be next?

    http://www.bendystraw.co.uk/CBLLookupfor78.129.134.pdf (will be removed in a week or so)

  9. #9

    Default

    Removed again, still fallout from the first block

  10. #10
    Ian's Avatar
    Ian
    Ian is offline Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,365

    Default

    Do you know roughly how long it may take before the situation is resolved, I have an outbox full of emails that keep getting rejected and I don't have another way of getting them through unfortunately.
    Ian Larner
    deZian - Web Design Site
    Paneltec.biz - Company Website
    boowear.co.uk - T-Shirt Design Site

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Nairn blocked by Barracuda Spam Filters
    By escapistthx in forum Mail Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 11-02-2010, 10:17 PM
  2. Nairn Downtime today
    By Colin in forum Emergency Downtime
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14-01-2010, 05:17 PM
  3. Spam on Nairn****Again
    By Colin in forum General News
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-12-2009, 04:11 PM
  4. Blacklisted?
    By Ian in forum Mail Support
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-06-2008, 07:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
© Ariotek Limited 2009. Registered in Scotland, Company No. SC362308 :: VAT Registration No. GB 977 9798 12 :: T: 0800 098 8804 :: Fax: 0800 098 8599
All prices are exclusive of VAT